Guitar Lesson Plans – Late 1980’s

SmkI took private guitar lessons during the late 1980’s.  My experience as a student had me in an entirely different environment than the one I currently teach in.  Guitar Tablature had not fully been an accepted form of notation (although it is arguably the most accurate), educational resources were not as readily available as they are today, teaching methods were often dry and uninteresting.  The location where I learned guitar was drastically different.  Instead of a first class studio overlooking a tidal estuary, as a I currently reside, I was attending lessons in a section of a city that was vaguely crime ridden and located just a 1/2 block away from an adult movie theater in a room that was filled with cigarette smoke as common custom encouraged the habit in basically every situation.

PN

My field of study with the guitar focused on jazz music, so I learned a limited amount of rock songs.  I spent the majority of my time reviewing a large variety of jazz concepts and technical skills, both conceptually and in real life situations.  I applied my learned knowledge to jazz standards.  Below, I’ve provided to the general public scanned versions of all the material that I used in my private lessons program, for either study or interest.

Click to access Joe_D’Angelo_-_Lesson_Plans.pdf